We’ve developed a standardized scale for all the languages we teach so we can measure your existing language abilities. Ranging from 1 (beginner) to 10 (professional), the Berlitz scale will measure your level of language comprehension and practical skills.

Once you complete a needs analysis survey, and chat with one of our friendly staff, you’ll build a learning path that will map your journey through the Berlitz proficiency levels to ensure you meet your personal goals.

The widely used Council of Europe’s Common European Reference Framework for Languages (CEFR) defines different levels of language proficiency to make the evaluation of language skills more transparent and easier to compare. These CEFR levels correspond to the 10 Berlitz levels and the Berlitz online point scale (from 0 to 30).

Proficiency levels


Level 1 - A1

Knowledge of language is sufficient to communicate in a very limited way, with the simplest oral and listening tasks and situations.

Please select a level for more info
Upper Intermediate

Find out more

Fill in the form below and we’ll contact you to discuss your learning options and answer any questions you may have.